Late Night Creativity…And Hiddlestoning.

Dear Readers,

I find myself rediscovering time and time again that I like to let my creativity run at night, when others are asleep, and that’s including Lucy Cat.  She’s currently curled up on “her” blanket at the foot of my bed, trying to ignore my one-sided talking thoughts, Pandora music and I’m not sorry to say, my singing.

"For the love of God, Human, shut up!"

“For the love of God, Human, shut up!”

Anyways, back to my initial thought…

Something is dreadfully romantic and motivating about toiling away into the depths of night while the rest of the world dreams.  I’ve dabbled in a bit of everything tonight: drawing, writing, singing (though not too loudly.  I do have normal people for roommates that I respect just a little).  I’ll kind of give a recap for you lovely people out there, because even though it’s nice working when others sleep, it’s also nice to spread out your musings, even to cyberspace.

I’ve decided to kind of revisit the basics again, and do figure drawings, in a sense.  I’ve started a small hand study, using current-British-crush Tom Hiddleston’s hands as a model.  Seriously, have you ever looked, and I mean really looked at his hands?  They’re ridiculously graceful-looking, and it looks like he should play the piano!  Fangirl or not, they’re great for a hand study.

Makes my hands look like a stubby cherub's...

Makes my hands look like a stubby cherub’s…

Not to mention, hands are so expressive.  Artistically speaking, you can learn a lot about a person by just watching their hands, their position and movements.  They are worthy of a portrait themselves.  Also, I have found that a lot of people have difficulty creating them in artwork, what with all of the bones and joints to recreate.  I find them fascinating to draw/paint because of that difficulty, and somehow I can pull them off rather decently if I don’t say so myself.  For those struggling, here’s how I break down hands:

1.  I usually find a good model, whether online, in my own photos, or use my own hands.  I like working from pictures though so if something moves, I don’t lose my angle.

2. Print out one or two copies of a picture on regular printer paper.  I like to get a good picture for those small wrinkle details, so don’t mess with the image size so much that your just left with a matte pixel-y mess.  Sharp and neat.

3. Get a pencil.  Now, I like to mentally strip my hands down to the bones.  Never mind the muscles and tissues yet because you need a good foundation to layer up those things.  And by bones, I mean lines and circles, by the way.  One one of the pictures, I like to make a circle where each joint is on the wrist, knuckles and joints of the fingers.  If you run your fingers over your finger joints, they almost feel circular, so it’s a fitting shape.  Then for the straight bones, I draw a line connecting the joints.  This just helps my brain know this is where a bent will happen, and this is where a segment will stay straight, so as to avoid those wet noodle limbs.

photo 2 (5)

4. Recreate the pattern on your paper/canvas.  Do this lightly so that you can erase these marks later.  Unless your going for that bionic look, than by all means, press away!

5. Flesh it out.  I like to do subtle movements with my pencil, curving inward on the straight lines and curving out over the circles.  It helps those bends again and show the density of the knuckles and joints.

 

Or you can consider this all rubbish and do what you are doing now!  I just like sharing. 🙂

As for writing, I’m only slightly embarrassed to say that I’ve been playing with a Hiddleston fanfiction.  Yes, dear God, I’m one of those fans.  But it’s not smut (yet).  I’ve read quite a few and it just left me feeling a lack of satisfaction with character development.  I was an English minor in college and learned that without character development your reader is left unbelieving.  Plus, I like writing when I’ve something interesting to share (like a blog post at 2:30 in the morning).  So I’m handwriting a long draft of a story and practicing dialogue in my head and out loud to see if it’s sounds like something someone would legitimately say.  I’ve also gone a little manic and researched British slang (it’s set in London) so that my Brits are left sounding too…American.  Aside from feeding into my obsession with Mr. T. Hiddleston, I’m finding this just a good writing exercise; creative muscles that I haven’t flexed in a while.  I’m still holding onto my Bucket List entry of writing a book one day, so I best not lose my skills (or what little are there).

If there are writers out there who are in need of writing exercises, I highly recommend Monica Wood’s The Pocket Muse.  I’ve had this book for about ten years now and still find myself going back to it now and again for a writing topic.  The ISBN is: 1-58297-142-0.

I’ll not bore your with my singing “prowess” but I will always and forever recommend creating Playlists for certain creative moods.  If you want a lively subject or feeling, play those faster-paced hip-hop tracks with abandon.  I personally like Shakira’s “Hips Don’t Lie” and anything by Will Smith, Fun, or anything really with a good beat.  Not too picky.  If you are in a dreamy romantic mood, I recommend film or movie scores or R&B like Alicia Keyes.  Don’t have time for playlists?  Say it with me, Pandora.  Pandora will save us all.

Well, I think that’s enough sharing for now.  It’s 2:46AM and I’ve still a lot to do.

Love to all,

NiSH

This entry was posted in Art, Fangirling, Life, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

