Betterment of Self Challenge: Update!

Hello dear readers,

 

I’ve made a small adjustment to my fitness/health challenge.  For nearly two weeks, I hit the gym – or the yoga mat – every single day.  But upon a little research I found that having a day of rest is more beneficial in the long run, as it gives your body a day to just, recuperate.  Alright alright, you’ve talked me into it…

But man, that day of rest was harder than I thought!  It was strange not having to plan a workout time in the day, and it actually made me miss it.  If you knew me from about ten years ago, you never would have believed that I would utter such a statement.  Whoa.

But in the same aspect, I’m glad for that day to do other things with that hour to hour-and-a-half, whether it be art, reading, catching up on my shows or even cleaning.  Alright, or snoozing on the balcony with some music, but that counts as bettering my mental health, doesn’t it?  So the time isn’t necessarily wasted.

Also, now that I’m getting my fitness routines leveled out, I’m going to try and focus more on my diet.  And I don’t mean starting a fad diet, either.  If there’s one thing I’ve learned about myself is that I’m not a fad diet person.  I’ll just be more aware of what I’m actually eating.  My My Fitness Pal app on my iPhone has been an enormous help with that, as well.  Just checking the nutritional value of some choice snacks I would have no problem eating otherwise, really slows down those cravings, or I’ll find that a piece of fruit and some almonds sound fantastic instead!  I’m of a mind to not be wasteful of my daily calorie intake on five chips…most of the time.

And really, that’s what I’m going for.  If I can stop myself about 85% of the time from reaching for that bag of Cheddar Jalapeno Cheetos, then one day of indulgence won’t seem so bad.  I’m not planning on giving up all of my carbs, nor all of my fats because, frankly, I need those as fuel for my workouts.  So, I just make a bit wiser decisions.  And my ever-growing recipe book collection helps with planning meals.  (Thanks Grandma for your hand-me-downs!  They’ll not go to waste!)

Also, wish me luck!  Tomorrow I attempt two fitness classes with my gal pals – one in the morning and one in the evening.  I have an inkling I’ll be terribly exhausted and hungry, but I still want to give it a go!  And maybe eat pasta for dinner.

Ta!

NiSH

This entry was posted in Health/Fitness, Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Betterment of Self Challenge: Update!

  1. bumblebecks says:

    Hiya,
    would really love it if you’d give my blog a wee read,
    I’m just starting to write about my 6 week fitness challenge, might be something that’d interest you!

    http://mumblesofbumble.blogspot.co.uk

Leave a Reply

