Motivation: It’s all it’s Cracked up to Be

Dear readers,

Today I jumped out of bed, despite the gloomy weather, ate a bowl of cereal and headed to the gym.  I decided, hesitantly, to jog/walk on the treadmill – my mortal enemy.  Usually the thing kills my knees with the hard jumping, but I’ve bought a new medium support knee brace that actually helped loads!  I highly recommend this if you suffer from minor knee ache, as I have most of my adult life.

Anyways, I alternated a speed walk and jogging regime, alternating songs on my Pandora playlist.  Roughly three minutes walking, and another approximate three minutes jogging.  Oy.  I was doing better than I thought, but your mind has time to play devil’s advocate when your legs start that stinging feeling.  So I needed a little boost of motivation, words of encouragement so to speak.  And I’m not too ashamed to say that I went to Pinterest for it.  When my mind is being a lazy bum, I go to my board labeled Inspired, and quickly read a few pins that I’ve found throughout the week.  Here’s the two that kept me going for about half an hour of run/walking:

“I literally have to remind myself all the time, that being afraid of things going wrong isn’t the way to make things go right.”

“Above all, be the heroine of your life, not the victim.”  -Nora Ephron

I’m sad to say that I don’t know who said the first quote, but these two did work for me and encouraged me to keep going.

Never get discouraged at your own discouragement.  It’s normal; humans will always wish for an easier road to happiness, even when one’s not available.  I think it’s the decision to persevere that builds your character.  And words of encouragement never hurt, either.

For the runners out there – or really anyone with a long-distance goal – here’s a Tom Hiddleston quote about running that really puts things in perspective.

“The Olympics have repeatedly confirmed that in life, as in running, it’s all about the third bend.  How deep you dig, it’s easy to explode out of the blocks, and the finish line pulls us towards it with an almost magnetic force, but the hardest part…The hardest part is when you can’t remember the beginning, or see the end.”  -Tom Hiddleston.

I cheer on everyone who’s at their third bend!

Love,

NiSH

This entry was posted in Health/Fitness, Life, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Motivation: It’s all it’s Cracked up to Be

  1. I see the Hiddlescrush is coming along nicely 😉 Glad you’re staying motivated! Keep up that awesomeness! I feel like I’m on the precipice of something, but do you ever feel like if you’re under too much scrutiny, it adds to your reluctance? I always feel like if someone sees me cheat it makes none of my original athletic/health efforts count. I’m gonna start taking a page from your book and remember to look for outside motivation when my own starts to wane.

    • Thanks! I don’t think anyone’s really put up too much scrutiny, save my exercise-obsessed cousin and cousin-in-law, but we don’t see them too often right now. But whenever you’re ready (and it does have to be YOUR choice) I’ll cheer you on!

Leave a Reply

