Bodies as Canvas: For Mama

Dear Readers,

It’s been a shamefully long time since I’ve posted anything, and I am so so sorry!  Life has kept me busy with starting a new job, keeping true to my fitness goals, and learning that one of my best friends is PREGNANT (I’m going to be an auntie! *squee*), but I’m still mad that I’ve neglected my cyber buds.  So so sorry!

To start off my return, I am posting this in dedication to Mama for her “Show Us Your Ink” post today.  We are showing off our inks, maybe the little stories behind them, and that we’re proud of our marks.

Here’s mine!

 

It's really hard to take a selfie of the back of your neck, did you know?

It’s really hard to take a selfie of the back of your neck, did you know?

I got mine I think around my second or third year of college.  My best friend Mandy and I decided to get one each together – an unofficial friendship tattoo stuffed with loopholes to the dedication tattoo curse.  Non-matching, different placements, friendship still intact, yay!  We scoured the Internet, books, every kind of media to find our designs, and I found and customized this tidbit.

It’s a form of the Celtic triskel, and though it has various VARIOUS meanings in many different cultures, I’ll explain what I saw in it.  It’s perpetual.  I like that it symbolizes perpetual movement forward, no matter what.  I’d like to think of it as a reminder that the body, mind and spirit will always ascend, move forward, despite what life is going to curve ball at you.  It’s scary but inspiring in a way.

Anywho, I love it, but I only wish I had placed it somewhere I could see it more often; you know, without having to awkwardly turn and angle a camera phone over my shoulder.  Ah well, lessons for next time.  I’ll keep moving forward.

In case you missed my subtle hint to check out her blog at the beginning of this post, check out Mama’s blog here.  She’s a hoot!

Love,

NiSH

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Bodies as Canvas: For Mama

  1. Mental Mama says:

    Yay! It’s lovely, though I am partial to all things Celtic. Gotta ask, which shop/artist did it?

  2. Pingback: show us your ink! | Mental in the Midwest

  3. Tattoo buddies!! Our tattoo of mine has the most/least meaning of all my tattoos. Which settles it right in there at the “just enough meaning” mark. One of my tattoos takes to long to explain and is usually misunderstood and the other spells out it’s purpose. But our tattoo of mine is right in the middle. 🙂 I can explain why I got it in less than 30 seconds and no one stares at me like I have a goat’s head after. Plus, it’s pretty.

Leave a Reply

