Betterment of Self Challenge: I’ve a Playlist for That!

So, yeah…I’m not dead!  And I swear I’m not abandoning the blog, just taking time to find things to blog about.  And today’s a little bit of a fluffer, so sorry about that.  But it’s an important, albeit little tidbit on motivation.

So, I’m roughly three months in to my Betterment of Self Challenge, and little by little, I’m getting better.  My weight has kind of plateaued, but I can tell I’m gaining muscle and (hopefully) losing some fat.  To help with realizing my progress, I’ve also started measuring my arms and waist on a weekly basis.  I suffer from flabby arm syndrome, something I’ve loathed about myself all my life, so it’s a good point of focus for me.  

But on to the title point of this blog; I find music is a great source of motivation, especially when I’m huffing and puffing at the gym.  Oh, it’s a pretty sight, as well, let me tell you.  So what I’ve done, and I highly recommend to anyone starting off on their own fitness challenge, is create your own fitness playlist.  I suggest songs with enthusiastic beats, powerful lyrics and are, of course, from artists that you love.  Generally if it compels you to physically keep a beat and makes you feel like a bad-ass, add it!

Here are a few that have made my playlist, lovingly titled, “Run Forrest, Run!”

Hot in Herre by Nelly; Ice Ice Baby by Vanilla Ice; Buttons by the Pussycat Dolls; Blow Me Away by Breaking Benjamin; I Gotta Feeling by Black Eyed Peas; Get the Party Started  by Pink; Whenever, Wherever by Shakira (English AND Spanish!); Stronger by Kanye West; Little Wonder by David Bowie; All My Life by the Foo Fighters; Gimme All Your Lovin’ by ZZ Top.

A great playlist is also a good tool for alternative paces, say on the treadmill or elliptical…especially the treadmill.  I’ll do a speed walk “song” first to warm up than the next song run at full but almost entirely even pace, then move back to a speed walk on the third song, and so on and so on.  FYI I’m up to about a three minute pace where I can jog.  I’m not a huge fan of running, but for some reason I feel compelled to keep going back to the treadmill.  I think I’ve watched too many Walking Dead episodes; if running away from a hoard is what’s going to save my life then damnit, I want to be able to do it!  Sorry, nerd moment! (FYI, not really sorry…)

So my lovely readers, I also have a small request to make:  my playlist needs a little updating with the times.  What songs would you suggest that I add?  Is there a song out there that’s a great beat and gets you pumped up each time you hear it?  Or that song that makes you sing out loud in the car, even with the windows down?

Love always,

NiSH

This entry was posted in Health/Fitness, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Betterment of Self Challenge: I’ve a Playlist for That!

  1. Mental Mama says:

    Almost anything by Bowling for Soup is good, same with Mr. B the Gentleman Rhymer. The Dollyrots are also really good, very spunky. Pink has some other tracks that are good – Raise Your Glass, U and Ur Hand, Stupid Girls – those are just the ones that come to mind.

    • Finally got around to listening to some Mr. B…WHERE HAS THIS BEEN ALL MY LIFE!?! Brilliant! Thank you for all the suggestions! The DollyRots’ “Because I’m Awesome” is definitely blood-pumpin’. And All Hail the Rock Chick Awesomeness That is Pink!

      • Mental Mama says:

        I can’t really even remember how I found him, but he’s definitely amazing. Dollyrots I found at a Bowling for Soup concert – they were one of the openers, I think at the Sokol show. Anyway, glad you liked the suggestions. 🙂

Leave a Reply

